Southeast Minnesota School Counselors Association


Welcome to the Southeast Minnesota School Counselors Association webpage. The SEMSCA is a regional division of the Minnesota School Counselors Association. The SEMSCA provides opportunities for professional development and networking to its members. We encourage all school counselors in the Southeastern MN region to join today!  

2016-17 SEMSCA Awards Banquet...Let's Celebrate!

Southeastern Minnesota School Counselors Association is happy to announce we will be hosting our annual SEMSCA spring awards banquet on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at the Willow Creek Golf Course in Rochester to recognize our area's school counselors.  We hope that you can come and celebrate our profession together!

The Award Banquet invitation provides specific information about the award winners at each level as well as banquet information, including menu and cost.   Please sign up to attend by April 7th so food can be planned accordingly.  
Here are the 2016-17 SEMSCA Award Recipients:
School Counseling Administrative Support Award:  Barb Turek, Tri-City United Schools
Elementary School Counselor of the Year: Wanda Randgaard, Lake City Elementary School
Middle School Counselor of the Year: Craig Bell, Stewartville Middle School
Secondary School Counselor of the Year: Shelly Bielen, Kasson-Mantorville High School
Outstanding Leadership Award: Jennifer Finch-Mitchell, Rochester Public Schools 
5:15pm:  Check-in and Social Hour
6:00pm:  Dinner
6:45pm:  Awards Program 

If you have any questions, please contact Becky Martin.  Her email address is listed on the invitation.  

MSCA Student Scholarship 2017


* Minnesota School Counselors Association (MSCA) is a division of the American School Counseling Association. Its purpose is to serve its members and the public through programs that advance guidance and counseling in all school and work settings: elementary, middle/junior high, secondary, and post-secondary.

* Ten $1,000 scholarships (one finalist per each of the ten MSCA divisions) will be awarded to individuals pursuing post-secondary education at an institution of their choice.

* For more information about MSCA visit:


* Applicants must be a Minnesota public or private high school senior

* Applicants must be able to articulate how a licensed school counselor impacted their life

* The licensed school counselor written about must be a member of MSCA

* Applications must be submitted by March 1st

Application Details and Online Application Link

SEMSCA Award Nominations Time!

It's once again time to think about our Southeastern Minnesota School Counselor's Association region and all the people who could be recognized for their great work in counseling and related fields.  Would you take a minute this fall to give someone else the recognition they so rightly deserve?  Here's how you can make a difference...


1.  Download the proper 2016-17 Nomination form

2.  The categories are:

  • Elementary School Counselor of the Year
  • Middle School/Jr. High Counselor of the Year
  • Secondary/Multilevel School Counselor of the Year
  • Post Secondary School Counselor of the Year
  • Supervisor/Administrator of the Year
  • Outstanding Leadership Award
  • Emerging Leader

3.  Fill out the appropriate form/s and send it to Dawnette Cigrand by February 15, 2017.

 Dawnette Cigrand, 115 Gildemeister Hall, Winona State University, Winona, MN 55987

4.  Award recipients will be notified by phone no later than February 24, 2017.  At that time, it will be determined if the candidate is eligible for a MSCA award (deadline March 1, 2017).

5.  We will celebrate the winners at the SEMSCA Annual Awards Banquet planned for April 11, 2017 at 5pm at Willow Creek Golf Course in Rochester.

For further questions contact Dawnette Cigrand, 507-457-5336 or email

Note: MSCA membership must be current by December 1st in order to qualify at the MSCA level for "Counselor of the Year" awards.